LPC Distinguished Researcher Program 2016

The LPC Distinguished Researcher Program at Fermilab, is designed to help build and maintain the strength of the CMS Collaboration and is made possible by funding from the US DOE, US NSF, and Fermilab.

LPC Distinguished Researcher 2016 (Application deadline June 1st, 2015)

The LHC Physics Center (LPC) at Fermilab (https://lpc.fnal.gov/) seeks applications for CMS LPC Distinguished Researchers (DR) for the year 2016.

The deadline for applications and supporting letters is Monday June 1, 2015. Applications received after the deadline will not be considered. The applications must include a research proposal and a plan for residency at (or travel to) the LPC. The research plan should highlight the impact which the proposal is expected have on CMS and to connect it with activities already taking place at the LPC, or with the intent to start a new program that will enhance the LPC contributions to CMS. Please submit three letters of recommendations. Senior (tenured or tenure-track) faculty do not need to submit letters of recommendation. In the cover letter, please specify the requested start and end dates as well as provide the current salary and fringe.

We are looking for CMS members from across the collaboration with a Ph.D. in particle physics and an established track record of expertise in a specific object and/or physics analysis, or an activity related to the CMS Upgrade. A typical DR will have had experience organizing and leading a group of physicists within CMS or another HEP experiment, or has demonstrated the potential to do so. A DR will use the resources available at the LPC to make a major contribution to CMS in the areas of physics analysis and/or object development and/or refinement or a contribution to the CMS Upgrade. This provides an outstanding opportunity for young scientists to develop an independent research program. The starting date for each position is will be January 2016. This is negotiable, but will be no earlier than November 2015 or later than March 2016.

The LPC serves primarily as a resource and physics analysis hub for several hundred physicists at US institutions in the CMS collaboration. The LPC offers a vibrant community of CMS scientists from US and overseas institutions, they play leading roles in analysis of data, in the definition and refinement of physics objects, in detector commissioning, and in the design and development of the detector upgrade. There is close and frequent collaboration with the Fermilab theory community. The LPC provides outstanding computing resources and software support personnel. The proximity of the CMS Tier-1 and the CMS Remote Operations Center at Fermilab allows critical real time connections to the experiment. The LPC offers educational workshops and tutorials in analysis techniques, software development and organizes conferences and seminar series. The DRs are an integral part of the organization and are leading activities at the LPC. For a full range of LPC activities please refer to: https://lpc.fnal.gov

Successful candidates will ordinarily be resident at the LPC for 50% or more of their time as DR. Visiting post docs and faculty will receive up to 50% remuneration as DR with the remainder provided by the home institution. The remuneration will be limited to salary and fringe benefits; university overhead will not be paid. There is a travel budget to enable regular trips to CERN and to conferences to present work. Each position is tenable for a minimum of six months and a maximum of one year, in the first instance. Renewal is possible but requires a new proposal. The maximum amount of time as CMS LPC DR is two years.

The application website is at https://academicjobsonline.org/ajo/jobs/5502.

Questions about the CMS LPC Distinguished Researchers program may be directed to the LPC coordinators:

Selection will be made by the LPC Management Board:

  • Kerstin Borras (DESY)
  • Tulika Bose (Boston)
  • Sridhara Dasu (Wisconsin, USCMS)
  • Rob Harris (FNAL)
  • Joe Incandela (UCSB)
  • Teruki Kamon (Texas A&M)
  • Boaz Klima (FNAL, Chair)
  • Jim Olsen (Princeton, CMS Physics Coordinator)
  • Meenakshi Narain (Brown, Chair)
  • Manfred Paulini (CMU)
  • Jeff Spalding (FNAL)