LPC Distinguished Researcher


Nicola De Filippis


Politecnico and INFN Bari, Italy

What I will be working on:

My plan for research activity at the LPC in 2019 includes a study of the impact of the Phase II CMS upgrade detector on the reconstruction of the Higgs boson in the four-lepton channel and the measurements of its properties, at the high luminosity LHC. Other relevant topic for my activity with Run 2 data include firstly to develop an exclusive analysis for the measurement of the cross section of the production of the Higgs boson via the vector boson fusion (VBF) mechanism, with the Higgs boson decaying via H->ZZ->4l. Secondly I will search for double Higgs boson production in the final state bbZZ with the Z boson decaying to a pair of charged leptons and measure the cross section that could be turned in a constraint on the trilinear self-coupling parameter appearing in the Higgs potential. I plan also to contribute to the tracker detector related activities by performing the measurement of the silicon strip hit resolution with real data and the muon tracking efficiency.

My role in CMS past and present:

I am a member of CMS since 2002 and I contributed to several areas of the activities of the collaboration. My scientific activity has been focussing mostly on studies about the Standard Model Higgs boson at the LHC by using data collected by the CMS experiment since 2011. I was H->ZZ subgroup convener for the 2008-2010 period and responsible of the H->ZZ group in the LHC Higgs Cross Section WG. I was one of the main contributors for the discovery of a Higgs particle with a mass of about 125 GeV in 2012. I was chief editor of all the H->ZZ papers for the CMS Higgs Working Group in 2011. In 2012- 2013 I was editor of the H->ZZ->2l2tau analysis. I’m currently the “Higgs Future Analysis” subgroup co-convener and I'm coordinating the effort of the Higgs studies for the CMS Upgrade in the high luminosity scenario of the LHC. I have been also involved in Muon POG activities, as responsible on the muon object official validation and member of muon advisory group of the Muon Institution Board. I am the co-chair of the CMS School committee starting from September 2017. I am a member of the CMS Thesis Award Committee.